Dental Coverage

Emory Medical House Staff members can select the Aetna Traditional Dental (PPO) for dental coverage.

Aetna Traditional Dental (PPO) Plan

The Aetna Traditional Dental (PPO) Plan is a traditional dental plan where you pay for services through co-insurance. Co-insurance is the portion you must pay for services, in most cases, after meeting your deductible. The deductible is a set amount that typically you pay before co-insurance starts.

Features of this plan include:

  • Flexibility to choose any provider. This plan has a large number of In-Network providers
  • Reimbursements for most Out-of-Network claims
  • Preventive services received by either In-Network or Out-of-Network providers are covered at 100% up to reasonable and customary levels. Some examples of routine preventive care include:
    • Oral examinations
    • Routine, deep cleanings and polishing
    • Fluoride
    • Sealants (permanent molars only)
    • Bitewing X-rays
    • Full Mouth Series X-Rays
    • Space Maintainers


  • Regular full-time or part-time employees scheduled to work 20 hours or more per week are eligible.
  • Full-time temporary positions on a six-month or longer assignment are eligible.
  • If you elect coverage, your eligible dependents are also eligible for coverage.

Coverage begins on an employee's date of hire. If you are benefits-eligible, you must enroll during your first 31 days of employment with Emory.


2023-24 Dental Plan Contributions (For Medical House Staff)
Aetna PPO Plan
Monthly Rate
Employee Only$27.00

How to Enroll

New Hires

Eligible employees can enroll through Self-Service anytime during the first 31 days of employment. View Step-by-Step Enrollment Instructions.

If you do not enroll during your first 31 days of employment, you will not receive coverage. Your next opportunity to enroll will be during annual enrollment.

Current Employees

Employees are provided an opportunity to make changes to their benefits each year during annual enrollment (typically held in June of each year for the upcoming academic year July-June).